Why I haven’t been posting…

Hi everybody! I haven’t been on here much, because I’ve been spending a lot of time with the puppies. They have been a lot more active, and need more one on one time, or one on two time (two puppies, one me πŸ˜€ ). I’ve also been doing some training with them, which has been fun, but time-consuming. I am working on an update, but it’s taking me awhile to put it together.

But as much as I want to make ten-billion posts this week, I was called in for jury duty Wednesday-Friday. Not something I’m looking forward to. I don’t know how much I’ll be at home, because I have to call in the day before to know if/when I need to come in. It also means I might have to sit around (probably doing nothing) instead of my weekly shift. Gah.

I’m trying to have a good attitude about it, but it is really not up my alley, nor do I think I’ll be any good at it. I am not good at holding onto facts, and trying to be unbiased. But I know someone has to do it. I just wish I knew what days and at what time I need to be there.

All of this to say, I know I didn’t post much this week, and I don’t expect to get much done this week. But I hope to be back to “normal” (which is still sporadic πŸ˜› ) by next week.

But before I go offline again, I have a couple things to note.

The first one requires a bit of back story. Admiral has problems with controlling his bladder (only outside, thankfully!), and a year or two ago he started “leaking” poop if I walked him in our development, or neighboring developments. So I’ve been limited to walking up and down our long driveway with him, which is fine most of the times, and safer if I’m alone. But sometimes I really want to be normal, and I was frustrated that I couldn’t fix it. I tried using treats, gradually adding more development in, but nothing worked. We talked to our vet about it (Dr. Onorati is amazing, by the way!), and he suggested that we take the dogs out on a group walk, because a lot of times if they are stressed out alone, they are more relaxed with a fellow dog.

We just tried it this week, and it worked!! We walked in our development in cold blood (I was armed with several bags!), and we had no problems. We even came across other people and dogs (which Admiral is very interested in, and can be cause him to become excited), and still, he was fine. We had him walk next to Bella, and it was literally like she was his security blanket. He kept checking her with a sniff to make sure everything was ok. Unfortunately, I did not get a picture of it. But I am so excited about this! It gives me hope that I may be able to counter-condition him to be fine with walking anywhere I want!

Second, it’s air-conditioner season! We have two window air-conditioners, one for the Master bedroom, and the other for what we call “the back suite” which is where the rest of us sleep. We set them up yesterday, because it’s in the 80’s here. YES!!! (I also ate lunch outside yesterday…mostly in the shade, because I burn easily, but I did pop out into the sun occasionally πŸ˜€ )

WP_20150607_082

Yes, we (the kids) like to have it set to 64. It isn’t always able to cool it down that far, but we are very persnickety about our room temperature. It has to be Just. Right. I know people from other areas of the country might think this is cold, but we are in Washington, so we are used to “cold”.

Also, in case, like me, you forgot that mosquitoes are a part of summer nights…It’s mosquito season everyone!Β  And I have five bites to prove it! But I have this best friend…

WP_20150607_085

Nettle Infusion. Grace was kind of into herbs for awhile, and this was one of the things she made. It’s just stinging nettle leaves, dried (?), and then boiled or something. You’d have to ask Grace or my mom. What I know is that it smells awful, it’s a horrible color, but it is great for bug bites (at least, it works for me!) Ironically enough, if you get stung by stinging nettles, a stinging nettle infusion will help. Being stung by nettles isn’t that bad, though. It just burns like crazy, and it’s that niggling at your consciousness kind of pain. (So if you are harvesting it, you probably want to wear long sleeves and long pants/socks/boots or something to protect you skin. Just a hot-tip from yours-truly. πŸ˜› )

That’s it for now! Hope you have a lovely week, and I’ll see you on the other side of jury duty(unless I’m lucky and have a chance before then)!

Have you ever received a jury summons/served on a jury?

4 thoughts on “Why I haven’t been posting…

  1. No, never been called in for jury duty…sorry you have to go!! πŸ˜₯

    I’m so glad Bella helped Admiral! Just let me know anytime you want to go on a walk together; we’re always available. I think Bella finally found her long-wished-for therapy dog calling!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Awww, yes! I never thought of it that way before, but she is kind of like a therapy dog for Admiral! And she didn’t have to pass the CGC certification to do it! You rock, Bella! ❀

      Like

  2. Congratulations Abbie! That’s congrats on your success towards Admiral’s walk issues and thanks for telling us about the nettle infusion. It sounds great and since Mosquitos are supposed to be a bigger problem than usual this summer, I’m looking for anything that will help.
    Good luck with jury duty. I’ve never actually served on a jury although I’d like to. Being a paralegal in years past, I understand the need for jurors and wouldn’t mind serving. I’ve been called for jury duty several times but have been excused most times due to living abroad at the time or for being the primary caregiver for my terminally ill husband. The good news for you is that a 3-day service is very short if you are called in and you may not even be called in. Good luck.

    Like

    • Thanks, Dona! It’s is so rewarding for me when something actually works with him. And I wish I had the recipe for the nettle infusion…I’ll see if my sister has it. It might be the wrong time of year for harvesting nettle, too, I can’t remember if it’s spring or fall. =S
      Thankfully, I indeed did not get called in, which was a really good thing for my schedule. I am so sorry about your husband. I will definitely be praying for you!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

