Goodbye Mariners Puppies!

The puppies are having their surgeries this morning! I know this is a little sudden, but sometimes that happens when you foster. :S I’m still shocked myself!

WP_20150612_010

They will be available for adoption on Sunday morning, and if you check here, they should be on the first page late Saturday night, and early Sunday morning. (Once they get adopted, they get booted to the last page.)

As a general rule, I am ok with out of the blue stuff, but out of the blue goodbyes I’m not so good at. When I brought them in yesterday for their 10 week boosters, I was fully expecting to have to bring them home to be treated for kennel cough, so when the vet okayed them for surgeries, I didn’t know what to do with myself! It was so sudden, so different from any other foster drop-off I had ever done, that I felt like I had something stolen from me or something. I mean, it was what I wanted – they were so ready to have their own families; but I wasn’t ready, at that minute, to just walk away. I think I must have made some very queer faces, because Jessica (the Dog Foster Coordinator) handed me Nelson (the last puppy to be checked, and the one that was out), and asked if I needed a little moment. That was exactly what I needed. Actually, to be precise, I needed about 45 minutes, or at least, that’s about how much time I was able to spend with them before leaving, for which I was extremely grateful. Dog fur – especially puppy fur – is so therapeutic! I felt a bit better after some Nelson snuggles. πŸ™‚Β  (I like Jessica, by the way. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰ She always knows exactly what to say or do. ❀ She’s awesome.)

WP_20150612_012

Hiiii Whitney! It was so sweet to see them come up to me when I talked to them, and they wanted so badly to be held! It was painful, and they made my heart hurt. I told them they should stop being so sweet, and then I would be fine. πŸ™‚

WP_20150612_017

I tried, but couldn’t quite capture Nelson’s torturing look. He REALLY wanted to be held – badly, so he would sit (I know he’s not sitting in the pic), tip his head down, and look up with his eyes at me. I like to think he was practicing his “Adopt Me” face, but he was really asking very nicely to be held. Thankfully, I was the only one allowed to pet them through the sacred bars, since I was the Foster Mom. πŸ˜€ So he got lots of loving!

WP_20150612_014

We almost forgot to give them toys, but I remembered and gave them a rope toy, which I knew would be a hit. Sure enough, three of them started fighting over it almost immediately, but Whitney stuck with it.

One thing I am very glad I don’t have to do is give them only a half breakfast so that they don’t throw up before surgery. I had to do that earlier when we were going to bring them in and changed the plan last minute, and I wasn’t looking forward to doing it again. Not because they were grumpy, but because they were so good and patient sitting quietly for the rest of their breakfast. (I would always make them finish the leftovers from the previous meal before giving them more, so they were waiting for me to refill their bowl.)

WP_20150611_009

The staff members will have to face this, not me!! What good puppies! Can you beat that?

WP_20150612_021

Ok, this is a really random picture, but the sign in the corner was just too much for me! The sign says something like, “I’m a puppy: Don’t touch me!”, but as you can see, all you can see in the picture is “touch me”. Like they needed a sign to say that for them! πŸ˜› That’s why they have the sign. Anyway, I thought it was funny!

So yes, my day yesterday was very interesting. I came home to a cleaned-up foster room (thanks guys!), and I keep finding myself lookingΒ and almost talking into our study, which is where the puppies were. There is always an adjustment period. Admiral likes it, because he has me all to himself again, which means he gets food faster. It’s all about the food! πŸ˜€

I was almost tempted to bring home two, 6 week old Aussie puppies that were on yesterday’s Foster email (it’s not daily, that just so happened!), but I knew that with a major workday today, it just wasn’t feasible. Add to that that Admiral likes having a break between fosters, I wanted a bit more free time (more on why in a different post), and my sister was getting overwhelmed with these puppies, and I knew that a last-minute, decision to bring home more puppies would not fly super well. πŸ™‚

Aussie puppies

They’re cute, though, right?

P.S. I still have lots of Mariners Puppy pictures to share, so just because they are gone, doesn’t mean the pictures will stop!

Edit: Sorry to all who got an email late last night, especially if you followed the link, and couldn’t read the post because it wasn’t there! I’m still getting used to this blogging thing, and late nights compounding on one another (I can blame that, right? Phew, thanks!) make for mistakes like posting in the past. Yeah. That’s exactly what I did. Anyway, sorry about that, and thanks for hanging in with me!

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Mariners Puppies!

  1. Sniffy!! Yes, it *was* super-sudden. I didn’t get to say goodbye, and I thought they were the best foster puppies ever! I wish I’d been able to spend more time with them while we had them, but I always forgot about them. 😦 They were so sweet…I hope they go to good homes!

    Like

    • I’m so sorry you didn’t get to say goodbye! πŸ˜₯ Hopefully you said goodbye before one of the false alarm times… I hope they get good homes too! I get ridiculously nervous and emotional about the whole adoption process. Agggghhhh!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

