Thinking Out Loud Thursday #2 – My Month in a Blender

I feel super bad for being AWOL here for like, the last 2-3 weeks. I just didn’t feel much like posting (besides my massive fireworks post, of course), plus it was hard to find a few minutes to put together, so I just didn’t post. I hope you guys understand! But what better way to start over than a Thinking Out Loud post? Thanks to Amanda for giving bloggers all over the internet an excuse to be random. My favorite! You’re awesome, Amanda!

Thinking-Out-Loud2

I’ll be going fromΒ nonsense to serious and back again, so bear with me… πŸ˜€

1. I’ve noticed a dramatic increase of door-to-door salesmen in the past few weeks. It makes good sense that summertime would be a more lucrative time with lawn care, pests, etc., plus the nice weather, it’s a win-win for them. For the rest of us, though, it’s just a pain. πŸ™‚

2. On a more pleasant note, one of the times when I wasn’t blogging, I took the time to paint my toenails. My old color had grown out a month or so ago, and I hadn’t had a chance to do it. So finally Hannah & I (we were in the same predicament) made time to do it. It’s a home job, so nothing professional, but it makes me happy! Especially since I’m barefoot like 90-95% of the time during the summer. (Hence why I don’t have shoes on in the picture) πŸ˜€ I’m sorry that you got the short end of the stick. 😦

Toenail Polish - July 2015 - 001 (1024x683)

3. Last Friday, while on shift, I was asked by Cris (Jessica’s old boss, with whom I’ve worked with on several occasions both on my shift and in dealing with fosters) if I was interested in taking another singleton “lab” puppy for a week, who was on meds for kennel cough. My sister had already fallen for the puppy, and I could see she really wanted to do it. I’m not good at saying no – especially in person – with people I know, so in one of my crazier moments I said, “Sure!” I mean, it was only for a week, I’ve done kennel cough meds so many times I could do it with my eyes closed, she didn’t seem too crazy, and I’d have Grace to lean on. How bad could it be?

Not so good. There were definitely things about this puppy (her name was Adelaide) that made her easier than Poppy, but there were several that made it harder, too. For example, one thing I didn’t realize until we got home was that she was a shepherd mix (I’m thinking English Shepherd). I don’t know how much Lab she had in her (if any), but it wasn’t enough! She was ok with Admiral, but just the sight of Bella or Keely sent her into fits of arousal, and she would want to chase them. Not very good for the stress-levels of the dogs or the humans! Thankfully, she was very happy in her crate, and I think even wanted it sometimes!

WP_20150720_005

Luckily for her, she was cute! I don’t get along with shepherd types typically. Unless it’s someone else’s, and it’s been properly trained. But don’t ask me to dog sit. Please! They are all smarter than me, which is not fun. :S I emailed with Adam (the new Dog Foster Coordinator), and arranged to take her back on Monday, so that was good.

Sunset - July 2015 - 005 (1024x683)

4. There isn’t anything quite like a beautiful sunset. And sometimes it does require getting out the step ladder and the nice camera to (try) and capture it. This picture doesn’t even come close to how beautiful it was in real life! I was actually taking Adelaide out one evening, and she was refusing to go before bed, so while I was waiting, I was enjoying the beauty of the summer evening, and trying not to think mosquito thoughts. πŸ˜€ I’m so glad I decided to pause on the puppy and break out the camera. I know it’s actually a pretty bad picture, but it’ turned out way better than I thought it would!

5. Another thing I did when I normally would have been blogging was looking into new blogs. I followed several new blogs this weekend, and I’m still trying to explore all the leads I got! In my explorations, I read several very good posts on the subjects of food/diet/body image. First I ran into Maddy Moon, and her encouraging (to me) story. Two of my favorite articles by her was her one on labels and having to live up to them (and how to deal with it), and one about how gaining fat made her happier. Of course, that’s a very rough description of them, and I can’t really do it justice. (To those who may be cautious of this, both those articles have pictures of her in a bikini at a competition.)

Another couple articles I really enjoyed, were by Jen. I think my all-time favorite was “When Your Diet Defines You”, but I also really liked her “Food Forgiveness” post. She is awesome. πŸ™‚

WP_20150611_010

6. Speaking of food, this is a lunch I love, but I only crave it at certain, random times! It was inspired by lunches Hannah & I made from the leftovers of a dinner my cousin Beth made when we visited them one time. Ours differs a bit from each other, but mine is canned chicken, sprouts, sliced cherry tomatoes, cashew cream (’cause there’s nothing quite like it) and homemade (by Hannah ;P) taco seasoning. Hannah puts guacamole (and more) in hers, and I tried it with guac when I had this the other day (which is why we’re talking about it, lol), and I like it both ways. I love guac, though, so you can’t go wrong with it in my mind. (Just don’t take that too far!)

7. Sometime in the blur of the last few weeks, my sisters and I went on a spur-of-the-moment clothes shopping trip at Fred Meyer. We had been intending to look at their clothes sometime when we were there for our weekly shopping, but we realized that we wouldn’t ever have enough time to get a good enough look. Well, we timed it just right, because FM was having a major clearance sale on all their clothes. I found a few things that I just love, as did my sisters, and although we spent WAY more than we are used to spending (we are used to thrift shops), we told ourselves that this was our “nice” place to shop for clothes. At Fred Meyer. On clearance. Ha. πŸ˜› Anyway, I found the two coolest skirts, and they were both the same brand.

Skirt tag - July 2015 (1024x683)

I’m sure it’s nothing fancy compared to other stuff out there, but I was impressed with this tag. Cool-looking, huh? Maybe it’s just me… I got two $50 skirts for about $17 or so each. I don’t remember exactly, but It was a good deal!

WP_20150708_010

8. Shortly after the 4th, Mom took Grace, Luke & I to the lake, and we had fun goofing of in the water, practicing our swimming skills (I’m horrible. That’s all I’m going to say.), or just peacefully sitting/standing/wading/kneeling in the warm (!!!!) water. Oh, and splashing wars! At first we were swimming very near to where the fireworks were set up, and you know what I found?

E-match - July 2015 (1024x683)

An blown-up e-match! It was almost as if I could bring everyone back with that one thing in my hand, but it didn’t work. 😦 It definitely made the whole thing seem more real, and less dream-like, though!

9. Well, I’d better go now. I have two goals for today; making this, and maybe, just maybe painting my fingernails! Fingers crossed!

Are you good at swimming?Β  No. Not really. I can move around, though, and I love the water!

Have you read anything that inspired you lately?

Do you have blog recommendations?

8 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud Thursday #2 – My Month in a Blender

  1. Yeah, and how come I always seem to get the salesman at the door?!? πŸ˜›

    Every time I look at my newly-painted toenails, it makes me happy too. And weird! I was thinking of trying to paint my fingernails today/this week, even though they chip off in like two minutes…as soon as I hit the kitchen again. πŸ˜› Beautiful sunset…I didn’t see that one. I loved my Zac and Rachel skirt so much, I just wanted to keep wearing it!! I’m sure it’ll be a staple; it is so comfortable!

    I can only really swim to save my life. And even then, as long as no one else grabs on to me. πŸ˜‰

    I’ve read a ton of really good and inspiring stuff on Blush (joinblush.com/blog) recently. They have a lot of good tips and articles addressing issues that a lot of girls struggle with (myself included).

    That muesli…can I have a bite? πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • I don’t know… :S Weird about the nails! I can’t wait to wear my new skirts, but I think the blue one at least will have to wait for cooler weather, since everything that goes with it seems to be the longer stuff.

      I spent a good portion of my morning exploring Blush’s blog after you sent it to me! πŸ˜‰

      Yes! (Or did you already sneak one? πŸ˜€ )

      Like

  2. I didn’t read it so I don’t know if this counts, but I heard this from Jillian Michaels, actually (😲). “Don’t be afraid to step out of that comfort zone. Don’t be afraid to try new things. Don’t be afraid of failure… When you step out, and try something new, you grow in ways you never imagined…” At least that’s pretty exactly what she said, I don’t remember for sure. πŸ˜‰
    It really got me, because *whispers secretively* failure is one of my greatest fears. And what she said is so true! Thanks for the post, Abbie! ❀ Kat

    Like

  3. Love these kinds of posts. Sometimes it’s nice to just say what’s on your mind, Beautiful sunset photo! πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a great day!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

