Five Friday Favorites (7/24/15)

Several blogs I follow do these posts every week, and I was intrigued, but reticent because I wasn’t sure I would be able to come up with five things every week (sad, I know!). Then I realized that I don’t have to do it every week; I can do it whenever I feel like it! So here I am!

Let’s get started, shall we?

1. Thick headbands

Headbands - July 2015 -001 (1024x683)

I love these things! I bought them a week or two ago, and have been loving them! I wasn’t sure how it would go, but I decided to bite to bullet and spend some of my precious money on a set. I made sure to get all neutrals (black, grays and white – I know it looks brown in the pic, sorry!), so as to get the most bang for my buck since I’d be able to wear them more often. I’m so very practical, but that’s because I learned the hard way. πŸ˜€ I’m so glad I jumped on the bandwagon while it was still (kind of) popular, and not dated! Oh, and this GIF = how I feel about my money.

Disney GIF from Robin Hood

[source]

2. The Thor Soundtrack

I briefly mentioned a bit ago that we watched Thor. It was the first time for us girls (Luke & Daddy had already seen it, and Mom isn’t into action movies at. all.), and we all loved it! Grace checked out the soundtrack from the library, and we’ve all enjoyed jamming to the awesome score. I know I’m like 5 years late to this party, but at least I’m here, right?

3. Boars hair brushes

Boars Hair Brushes - July 2015 - 001 (1024x683)

We’ve had them forever, and I used to use them all the time, but I got out of the habit, because I liked the way the pin brushes felt on my scalp, and brushing went a lot faster with my thick hair. But recently I noticed that my hair was breaking when I tore through it with the pin brush. Not good. So I tried the boars hair brushes again, and loved how they make my hair feel afterwards. Even though it takes a bit longer, I feel better about how I’m treating my hair.

4. New movies

I love watching new movies. Especially good new movies. (When I say “new” I’m meaning new to me.) This last month I’ve seen a lot of new movies, and it’s been a lot of fun. Some were awful, some just meh, and some were amazing. (Side-note: I just realized that I like watching movies better after they’ve been out for several years. I guess with so many opinions flying around me when a movie first comes out, that I feel less pressure than I do if it’s old.) I also like watching old movies over again, but I’ve seen almost every movie we own at least twice, and some more than that, so it’s not as special as watching a new one. Actually, we have this unspoken rule (among us kids at least), that after watching a movie for the first time, we have to watch it a second time shortly thereafter so that we can cement all the good quotes in our minds. We quote from movies in conversation (yep, we are weird!), so the first time through the movie, although we notice that there are a lot of very applicable quotes, our brains are more focused on the plot and story. So the second time through is when you learn what exactly all those good quotes were so that you can add them to your arsenal. At least that’s how it is for all of us but Grace, who can remember most of the good quotes from the first. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

5. Getting stuff done

WP_20150723_012.jpg

(It looks way more red here than in real life; it’s really bright pink!)

I mentioned Thursday that I had two goals, and I actually got both of them done! I painted my nails my (arguably) favorite nail color (Ahoy! by China Glaze), made Kate’s muesli (and I really like it from the little tastes I had while making it πŸ™‚ ), took a stray dog to the local vet to locate it’s owner (we found them), and wrote this post! It felt so good, especially since I was afraid I wouldn’t have time with the stray dog thing!

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful week, and hope you have an even better weekend!

P.S. If any of you are the last minute creative writing types, my friend Kat is having a story contest that ends at the end of the month! I was going to mention it earlier, but I forgot/wasn’t posting at the beginning of July. *ashamed face*

What things are making you happy right now?

9 thoughts on “Five Friday Favorites (7/24/15)

  1. Haha! That GIF -> me and my money too! πŸ˜›

    Yes! I feel the same way about new movies! I mean, old favorites are nice and all, perfect for certain occasions, but lots of times, I’m up for trying something new.

    I should try those brushes again…I always had trouble getting the bristles all the way through my hair. Love how they feel on my scalp though.

    ENDORPHINS making me happy!!! πŸ˜‰ Tried my first Barre workout…awesome *and* tough! Also, when food experiments turn out unexpectedly well, that makes me happy. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I had that problem with the brushes, too, but I figured out a way that works pretty well with thick hair. I don’t really get endorphins from working out, but I’m glad you are enjoying it, and that the Barre workout was what you were hoping it would be! I also love it when things turn out! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Oh my gosh, I just started using a similar brush too! Except it is the round kind. Makes my hair feel so luscious! πŸ™‚
    What is your fav movie?!? I need some new good movies to watch. Recommendations Please!

    Like

    • Ooh, favorite movies are so hard to choose! If you haven’t seen Maleficent, I really liked that movie. It is a retelling of Sleeping Beauty, which bothers some people, but I liked the spin they put on it. I just watched Thor and Inception, and really enjoyed them both! If you want a more lightweight, cute movie (and love dogs), I really enjoyed Beverly Hills Chihuahua. Don’t waste your time on 2 (and I’m assuming 3 as well) because almost all the actors are different, and the whole thing felt very slapped together and disjointed, as well as some of the people being out of character. Anyway, don’t know if you’ve seen any/all of these already, but I hope this helps!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re so sweet to take a stray dog to the vet! So glad they found the owner. Sadly, whenever I run into a stray dog, it’s usually when I’m walking by dog by myself, so it’s nearly impossible to hold her back while trying to gently grab the other dog to check for a tag or put a leash on it. I always pray that either someone else will be able to get the dog or that it’ll find its way home. Losing my dog that way is my worst nightmare!

    Like

    • It would totally be the same way with me if we were on a walk! This time she actually wandered into our backyard because a portion of our fence is down, so I grabbed one of our slip leads and “caught” her no problem because she walked right up to me. πŸ˜€ I agree about losing my dog; I know that even with all the precautions we’ve taken, it could happen to anyone! Very scary!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

