Five Friday Favorites (7/31/15)

Happy Friday everyone! It’s the last day before the weekend, and a pretty awesome day in it’s own right. I’m going to get to the favorites in a second, but I had something I wanted to share with you, and it made the most sense to me to have it at the beginning. πŸ™‚

I found out that today is “National Mutt Day”, which was perfect, because I had something I really wanted to share with you, and this is the perfect excuse. If you’ve been following me for a while, you know I have a special place in my heart for shelter dogs. Well, my friends at My Dog Likes posted a post last week about a fundraising project that their partner company, Dr. Harvey’s is just launching. They are reaching out to a shelter in the Bahamas to help them on their quest to save “Potcakes” (which is basically their name for mixed breed dogs if I understand correctly). Here’s the YouTube movie Dr. Harvey’s put together about it:

I volunteer at a Seattle Humane, so I can only imagine how hard it must be for this shelter to want to do so much, but be limited by food and other supplies. Since I am not exactly in a position where I can give money, I chose to spread the word. If you want more information, please check out the post at My Dog Likes, here. Please don’t feel obligated to give. If you want to help, but, like me, can’t donate, you can still help by sharing the post I linked to. If you follow that link, they have a link at the bottom of the post that makes it easy to share via Facebook. Thanks for letting me share this. Even if no one who sees this does anything, I feel better for sharing it!


Ok are you ready for some favorites? Here are some of the things that made my week awesome:

1. Horn combs

WP_20150730_004

Ok, sorry for yet another hair thing, but this really hit the spot after transitioning to brushing my hair with the boars hair brushes. The other day I was being lazy, and I didn’t want to walk all the way from the closet to the bathroom to get a brush. I also didn’t want to cave and break my experiment just because I was lazy, so before fetching the brush, I looked through our basket of brushes and combs in our closet, just in case I was forgetting that we had a boars hair brush in there. That’s when I saw the horn comb. Like the boars hair brushes, we got them a long time ago when Mom did a bunch of research on hair care (we all had really long hair back then). We really liked them at the time, and they were supposed to be good at stimulating the scalp and distributing your natural oils through your hair. So when I saw the horn comb, a little light bulb went on in my mind. My two main problems with the boars hair brushes were that they don’t get my scalp very well, and it’s hard to tell if my hair is really untangled because it makes my hair all fluffy. The comb solves both those problems! It feels SO good on your scalp! So good that you want to just keep combing and combing and combing… At least, I do! So I am re-falling in love with these combs, and feel like I can handle my experiment for longer-term now.

2. Fresh (tiny) blueberries

WP_20150728_006

A friend of ours from our old church came by our house on Monday with a HUGE container full to the brim of the best blueberries I’ve ever tasted. His neighbor had picked them from his farm and given them to him, and he thought we would enjoy them, and so he gave them to us! They are SO good! I am iffy on blueberries, but these are another whole level! I really want to do something with them, but I can’t think of anything that would be worth using these super good fresh ones. Any suggestions are welcome! (Please ignore the dog hair in the blueberries. I wish I could tell you I picked it out, but I only noticed it a while afterwards. Someone else probably did before they ate it. <- the operative word in that sentence is probably! πŸ˜‰ )

3. The Regional Whippet Specialty

WP_20150307_003

^ My token Whippet picture πŸ™‚ ^

For those of you who don’t know (that would be me as of two years ago!), a specialty show is a dog show dedicated to one particular breed, in this case, Whippets. If you read my about (kind of a daunting task!), then you know that I am into Whippets. I want one, to be precise. When I found out that the Whippet Specialty for my region was going to be held in a city less than half an hour away, I knew I HAD to go. I’m very excited and a bit nervous, which I shouldn’t be, because Whippet people are super awesome. I get to see Whippets tomorrow!

4. The summer weather

It’s back! YES! Summer is not over, and I am so happy. I can breathe now because the sun is out and it is hot again. It’s in the 90s! Woohoo! Early morning sun is my best friend because it warms me up, gives me Vitamin D (at least it’s supposed to), and doesn’t burn me. ❀

WP_20150728_010

I’m not the only one enjoying the sun being back! The dogs miss laying in the sun, especially on their special rug. πŸ™‚ They (especially Keely) loved getting it back!

5. Julie’s No Bake Chocolate Protein Bars

First of all, I love Julie. She is like my blogging hero. She is so real, and fun at the same time, and she makes awesome recipes that are a lot of times easy and fast (the only kind of recipe in my book if I could chose!), but are also SUPER delicious. These bars are no exception, and I literally make these all the time (I have the recipe memorized). They are just perfect, and I don’t know why! I don’t usually let them set like she does, since most of the time I make them on a craving whim and don’t have them patience to wait. πŸ™‚ I have made them the night before for a breakfast, though, and it is good both ways! (Oh my gosh! I just went to her blog to get those links, and found out she had her baby! I’m SO excited for her! EEEEEEKKKKK!)

Bonus: I tried hemp hearts for the first time today (in the above bars), and loved them. They kind of got lost, but I tried them plain, and I loved how soft and chewy they were!

Ok, another favorite – this should have been seven Friday favorites; in fact, I may take out the “five” part of the name and do it Julie style. πŸ˜‰

6. (or 7.) The full moon. It was last night or this morning, depending on how you are look at it. I loveΒ the moon! But I love it most when it’s full. I will stay up late just so I can stare at it, and think, pray and feel. There’s nothing like it. Since I have loved doing this for years, I have memories of other moon-watching times, and they come back to me whenever I do it now. It links all my memories together into one moment, and I don’t care how late it is anymore; I just get lost in all those memories. Bonus points if music is involved!

Full moon - July 2015 - 001 (cropped)

Also, I am SO jazzed I got a picture that good. It may not look like much to you, but it is so much better than I normally can get! I don’t have a fancy zoom lens, and all my previous attempts have failed utterly. I decided to try it one more time, and lo and behold, I got a halfway decent picture of the moon! It actually looks like the moon, and not some sort of bright blob! I’m pretty excited, as you can see.

What things are you loving this week?

6 thoughts on “Five Friday Favorites (7/31/15)

  1. I don’t know what it is about this week, but there just seems an abundance of things I wanted to list for my Friday favorites! Sometimes, I really have to think, but the ideas just flowed today. So you get my overflow. πŸ˜›
    1) Trying a Barre workout DVD…not the same as a class, but the next best thing.
    2) Spur-of-the-moment clothes shopping! I ❀ all things clothes shopping.
    3) Making deadlines. The key one around here being "before our friend goes into labor and we drop everything to (willingly) babysit the kiddos". πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Lol! That’s funny! I probably would have saved those for next week just in case I came up short. πŸ˜›

      1. That was fun! Not so much at the time, but now I am finding myself wanting to try it again. πŸ˜‰
      2. Me too!
      3. Making deadlines is pretty awesome. I always feel good because it’s not something that usually happens for me! πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. I love that you volunteer for the shelter! It makes me so sad to see them locked up like that. I have so many friends that REALLY want a dog, but won’t adopt because they don’t think they could have enough time with them since they have to work. I feel like a loving home (even if it is only in the mornings and evenings and weekends) is better than being locked up in a cage on death row! But hey, those are just my thoughts on the matter. πŸ™‚ Love the whippet, they are soooo cute! Their little pinched faces, awww. And you pups look so happy in the sun. Mine do that too. What kind is the little one?

    Like

    • It is especially hard with the really nice/good/sweet ones, where you go, “Why are you here?” or sometimes, “Why are you still here?”. Thankfully, the shelter I volunteer at is a no kill shelter, so I know they won’t be euthanized. They also go into “kill” shelters and transfer dogs from there to us, which is good for everyone in the situation!

      I can relate to your feelings about dogs being adopted. A lot of people have dogs and work full time jobs! But then, at the same time, if they can’t spare the time when they aren’t working, or they had a dog who wasn’t suited well for that lifestyle, it could be disastrous. I think it just takes a bit of foresight and research to figure out what would work for them. πŸ™‚

      You should see Whippet puppies; SO adorable! Keely is a Papillion/Chihuahua mix, at least, that’s our guess. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

