A Few Things About Me – Liebster Award Nomination!!!!

You guys, I never win anything.  And I never thought anyone would like me or my blog enough to ever link to me, much less nominate me for an award.  But last week, both those things happened, and each time, I was blown away!  I was so excited when my blogging friend, Hil from Sincerly, Hil was nominated, because she has an awesome blog, and I love reading her posts.  I love reading these kinds of posts, and I was enjoying myself and was also looking forward to looking into the blogs she nominated.  Only to find out that she had nominated me!  Thank you so much, Hil!  It means so much to me!

https://sincerelyhil.files.wordpress.com/2015/08/liebster-award2.png?w=676

Rules:

  • Once you are nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.
  • Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.
  • Nominate 5 -10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
  • Ensure all of these bloggers have less than 200 followers.
  • Answer the eleven questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make eleven questions of your own for your nominees or you may use the same questions.
  • Lastly, COPY these rules in the post.

So here are my answers to Hil’s questions.  I did my best, but I tend to be the type of person who goes, “what do you mean by…?” so it might get interesting. 😛

What is the first thing you do when you wake up?

Lay in bed to boot up to the point where I’m functional (I take a while to fully boot up) and depending on the morning, I either workout, or lay in bed reading blog posts.  Then it’s taking Admiral (my dog) out and breakfast!

If you could have any career in the world, what would you choose?

Hmm…this is a hard one, because I’m not intimately familiar with a whole lot of careers.  When I was younger I wanted to be an actress or singer/songwriter, but I realized I wouldn’t like the fame/lifestyle involved, plus I have zero talent in those areas.  Now, if I could be paid to travel places, that would probably be it, but if that doesn’t count, I would probably be an animal trainer of some sort.  So there’s like four answers to that one question… 😀

You have a choice of only three things you can keep for the rest of your life, what are they?

If it had to be things (no people), it would probably be: music, an animal (don’t make me decide dog vs. horse!) and a book.  I decided that choosing my phone as one would be kind of cheater (since it has internet, music, ebooks, blogs, you name it) so I refrained. 😉

What inspires you?

In the blogging world: reading the blogs of my blogging heroes, and/or hearing them talk about their blogs.  Otherwise, there is nothing like being alone somewhere in the great outdoors, soaking up God’s beautiful creation with the wind in my face and blowing through my hair.  Bonus points if there’s a horse involved.  (Can you tell I have horse fever?  Is that a thing?  I guess if not it is now! 😀 )  Ok, actually, there is one other thing, and that is the full moon with all of the above (except the horse…I wouldn’t say no, but I’ve never done it. 😛 ).

Why do you blog?

This is going to sound awful, but it’s mostly for me.  But you are a part of it, too!  I really wanted a place where I could express myself, put my thoughts out there (I haven’t done this enough yet!) and just be me.  I also wanted to make some online friends, since as of now, I don’t have that many in real life.  I don’t have any dreams of making money out of it; I view it as an online journal, not a business.  Because of this, I sometimes feel inadequate because I know a lot of people who are trying (or hope to someday) make money from their blogs, but I think I’m getting a firmer grip on what I want for my blog, and I’m ok with it.  More than ok; excited about it!  (I’m constantly amazed that people are willing to come along for the ride with me!  If you are reading this, thank you from the bottom of my heart!)  To sum up: I blog because I want to share my life.

Do you have pets?  If so, what are they and what are their names?

Yes!  I have a dog named Admiral.  The other pets in the family are Bella (my sister’s Cavalier King Charles Spaniel), and Keely (my brother’s Papillion mix).  You can learn more about them here!  No cats here ever.  Not saying it won’t ever happen.  But probably not.  When I was younger I wanted a bunny, but there was some law where I lived that said you couldn’t own a bunny if you were younger than 12 years old.  (I almost got a rat instead, but it never worked out.)  I still have a spot in my heart for small animals, even though we have had none.  🙂

What is something you’ve always wanted to try?

Since I’ve never had any food aspirations that I can think of, I’m going with the activity thing.  Dancing.  I don’t think I would be any good, but I’ve always wanted to try.

What is your most favorite post that you have written?

Well, I haven’t written that many as of yet, and have some I’m working on that I think will probably beat this one out easily, but I think my favorite so far was the one I wrote about the fireworks show for our Independence Day celebration.  Kind of weird, but I put a lot of work into that post, and I am ridiculously proud of it.  You can find that here.

What are you self-conscious of?

My body for one thing.  It’s pretty much been constantly changing since I hit puberty, so I feel like I never know how to hold myself, plus the whole body image thing, but that’s another post.  (<-anyone else think of Alton Brown on Good Eats saying “…but that’s another show…” when I say that? Just me?)  I am also self-conscious of talking.  It sounds ridiculous, but whenever I’m talking, my awkwardness goes up about 5 times as much as it was to begin with, and I become self-conscious of what I’m saying as well as everything else I’m doing.  I am generally a self-conscious person (and I don’t consider it a good thing).

What do you do for a living?

Uh, right now?  Nothing exactly.  I do babysit, and I also help run the household by doing the laundry, making meals, grocery shopping, etc.  If I decided to get a job outside of the house, it would probably be at Seattle Humane. 😀 😉

If you could be anywhere right now, where would it be?

Anywhere? There are too many places I would want to be!  I can’t choose!  Ok, if I was going for location only (no people) I would probably choose somewhere in Italy because that sounds nice right now. 😀 But otherwise I’d have to go with… … …  Ok, Vancouver (WA) to see my cousins’ new baby.  That’s a good excuse to pick them from amongst the rest of the family, right?  (Of course, I also know that my grandparents are coming for a visit – eek – this weekend, and my aunt is visiting us in October, which ruled out a few.)  Really I’d love to see them all, but that’s cheating. 😀 So short answer is Italy or Vancouver, WA.

My questions:

  1. What or who inspires you?
  2. Why do you blog?
  3. If you could meet someone (real, fictional, alive or dead) who would it be and why?
  4. What is your favorite post that you have written?
  5. What are you most proud of?
  6. What is your dream?
  7. Are you a morning person or a night owl?
  8. You have a choice of only three things you can keep for the rest of your life, what are they?
  9. What is something you’ve always wanted to try?
  10. What is your favorite book this year (or over all time)?
  11. If you could be anywhere right now, where would it be?

My Nominees (like Hil said in her post, I would have done so many others (including her!), but they’ve already been nominated, and this could get really old after a while. 😀 ) Sorry if any of you have been nominated already or have more than 200 followers!

Sarah Learns Life – Sarah and I have a lot in common (at least from my end!), and she is very honest and real about her eating disorder recovery journey, and mixes it up with fun and creative posts.

More Than I’ve Been – Kat is an excellent writer, but also shares some personal trials/insights on her writing blog.  She is what I’m not = eloquent. 😀

Ten Ways – Allison has a very interesting idea with her blog, which I love!  She give you tips on how to do things in ten ways (or less), or sometimes just shares a certain number of things that has been on her mind.

Eilish Eats – Eilish has a great mix of posts on her blog, some serious, some sharing of her day to day life, and everything in between.

A Girl’s Survivor Guide – Another unique blog concept, this blog is pretty much exactly what it sounds like.  Pandora has lots of interesting posts, and is not afraid to tell it like it is.

See ya tomorrow!

18 thoughts on “A Few Things About Me – Liebster Award Nomination!!!!

  1. Love these posts 🙂 My blog is an online journal too. If I could make something of it, that would be great, but I will keep doing it regardless. I had no idea what setting off fireworks looks like! We have shot very simple ones off in our yard before, but nothing like your wiring work!!

    Like

    • I really wanted to nominate you, but you have been blogging for a long time, and I figured you had more than 200 followers. 😀 It’s kind of funny for me, because I am the complete opposite of most people, and I’ve never done “backyard fireworks”, and often wonder how people do it, and what it would be like, lol!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha well they don’t sell fireworks in Pennsylvania unless they are the REALLY backyard style so we used to get some in Ohio on our way home from visiting family in Indianapolis;) But honestly, my Dad would stand the firework up in a pop (soda) can, light it, and jump to the side… safety first. Hahaha

        Like

  2. Congratulations for getting nominated…that is so exciting!:) And of course, thank you so much for nominating me! Not gonna lie, it totally made my day:) Plus I found some more awesome bloggers to follow and that is always great,

    Like

    • You were one of the first people I thought of. 🙂 And I’m with you; I always like finding new blogs to follow…my list keeps getting longer, and I’m a bit concerned I won’t have enough time in the day to read them all! 😀

      Like

  3. Congratulations!! And I loved reading your answers, though I could’ve guessed most of them. 😛 Intriguing questions…both that you asked and answered. I can’t wait to see how all the bloggers you nominated answer. 😉

    Like

  4. I loved learning more about you, Abbie! It’s a wonderful thing that you’re blogging for yourself. It ensures the genuineness of your content, and that in itself is an attractive thing in this big blog world. Also, I’m pretty self-conscious when I talk too, especially in a group of people I don’t know very well.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

