Dancing in the Rain

Not last Friday, but the Friday before [twenty-four robbers came knocking at my door…] (<-sorry couldn’t help myself!), I walked very confidently out our front door, and decided that it wasn’t cold enough for me to bring a jacket to my volunteer shift.  We Washingtonians (at least on this side of the mountains) don’t think twice about overcast skies.  Even if it does rain, ten to one it will be the Washington Sprinkle, which is no big deal, especially when you are walking underneath the shade of the trees.  So, without even considering serious rain, I made my decision solely based on temperature.  Big mistake.

It was lightly overcast on this day in Maple Valley, but by the time we got to Bellevue, the sky was looking more sinister.  On the way, I remembered that I had read that there was supposed to be thunderstorms that day…oops!  It was too late to turn around, and my mom generously offered to let me use her jacket.

I don’t remember if I mentioned this before, but we don’t have thunderstorms in summer here; that’s a winter thing.  But in the last couple years, we’ve had really un-Washington weather, and t-storms in summer has actually happened a few times.

It started d.u.m.p.i.n.g. rain shortly after I got there.  Whoa!  It. Was. Crazy.  This kind of rain doesn’t happen very often here either, although we do have several different varieties of rain. 😉 I could barely take a picture; the rain kept hitting stuff on my phone screen and making it do crazy things.  Plus the wet + warm = steamy.  (<-crazy math talk there was completely unintended!)  So picture quality is non-existent.  But I did my best, because I was blown away!  Hopefully you can use your imagination. 😀

WP_20150814_007

This was my attempt to catch the pouring rain in action on my phone, and while it didn’t really turn out, I thought it looked kind of cool.  It kind of looks rainforest-y, which is pretty funny.  I can assure you I was not in any kind of rainforest, unless you go by the strictest definition of the term. 😛

The rain made a river down the parking lot!  This wasn’t it at it’s worst; when it was at it’s worst, I had a really rowdy dog and decided it was not a good idea to try to take a picture while handling the dog. 😉

WP_20150814_011

I swear that it rained 2 inches in 30 minutes.  There is a little stream at the back of the trail we walk the dogs on, and this summer it was almost completely dried up.  Well, by the time I had finished walking my first dog, put him back, got the next one ready and out, this little stream had gone from a trickle where I could see the bottom to a nice steady stream.  I could not believe my eyes!  Here’s my best attempt at a before and after; of course, I didn’t know I would be taking the after picture when I took the before picture, so it isn’t a perfect match:

WP_20150814_005

WP_20150814_014

So yeah, you basically can’t see anything in the first picture.  And the second is a white blur.  But I assure you, it was impressive in real life!

Now, in comparison, this looks like a professional pic!

WP_20150814_013

I took this when the rain subsided a bit, and I could actually get my phone to function.  This is how the beautiful stream looks like the rest of the year, when it’s not summer.  This also happens to be what it looks like in summer during a rainstorm.  I’m quick that way. 😀

Now, my front facing camera isn’t great to begin with, but it was worse with the rain.  I was trying to be cool and make a “what’s with this face” (#fail).

WP_20150814_004

I almost didn’t share it because I thought it was lame.  But shorty after I took it, I checked myself.  I was reacting the way almost everybody does when confronted with a downpour: hood up, head down and walk as fast as you can to get to the next place of shelter – and taking pictures to prove it.

“Why?” I asked myself, “You love being out in the pouring rain (as long as it’s pouring; not misting ,drizzling, dripping or just ordinary raining [and yes those are all different]), so why aren’t you taking advantage of this?  You’re even in work clothes, so you don’t have to worry about having to change because you have to change anyway!”  Random things I’ve been listening to and reading popped into my mind about enjoying the moment/simple things, as well as this one quote from one of Maddy’s podcasts (I think) that all I could remember was “put on whatever you want and own it”.  They were talking about clothes (if I’m remembering right), but I think this can be pretty broadly applied.

I flung back my hood and let my hair get drenched.  I even did what little dancing I could manage with a dog in tow.  And let me tell you, it felt SO good.  My confidence was sky-high, and I felt like I owned the world. I have only felt this good a few times before, and it was so simple (besides the fact that I can’t call up pouring rain…)!

“Life isn’t about surviving the storm, but learning to dance in the rain.” ~ Author Unknown

Have you ever done some small thing that made you feel super-human (or whatever)?

P.S. (I’m sorry I don’t have a selfie of my drenched.  I forgot until I was home, and by then I was a lot drier and a lot tireder. 😉 )

2 thoughts on “Dancing in the Rain

  1. I love your moral/life lesson! That is something I should practice more. Also, I keep thinking, “I *need* to listen to Maddy’s podcasts!!” It just seems so much harder when it doesn’t work in my podcast app. :S

    Like

    • Lol, it’s really not that much harder. The only main difference is you can’t do other things while it is playing. And I need practice in applying it to real life, too!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

