Thinking Out Loud Thursday #7

I’m back with a random Thinking Out Loud post this time! (Anyone else think Amanda should win an award for creating this? She also should get one for coming up with ingenious, delicious and easy recipes. A lot of which have chocolate. An easy way to steal my heart. 😉 )  I kind of rant a bit, so beware!

Thinking-Out-Loud2

1.  Whenever I preview my posts or go to my blog to check something, the follow widget gives me the option of following myself.  And I’m signed in.  Like, what would happen if I followed myself?  Would I get email notifications every time I posted?  Would it think for a minute and then give me a “you can’t do this” message?  I kind of want to try. 😀

2.  Ok, I know this is a personal opinion, but I just have to put it out there.  Why, why why do people feel like they need to cuss in writing?  It drives me INSANE.  I understand that not everyone has the same opinion on language that I do, and certain people will cuss in their personal life.  But the thing is, when one is writing, you have to purposefully put it in.  Or, purposefully not edit it out.  There is no “slipping” in writing.  I have seen some articles that looked really promising, but the author had riddled it with all kinds of filthy language, and I refuse to pick through that.  Call me stuck-up, proper or whatever, but even if someone has a really compelling article, if they use use dirty language, I’m not going to read it.  Period.  I run into it enough in the real world, and I don’t want my brain flooded with junk.  I personally think it’s unprofessional, and also a bit lazy.  There are some really good English words that would work just as well to articulate and emphasize what the author is trying to say, instead of just f-bombing us to death.

3.  I don’t have an iPhone.  I’ve had my phone for a year
(it really feels way longer than that!), and considering that we got it for a buck (with a two year contract), I can’t complain.  That said, I am really tired of hearing of all these cool iPhone apps, and not being able to get them.  I really hope we can afford to get an iPhone next year, although now that Verizon is changing the way they sell their phones (no deal for the contract, if I understood correctly), who knows.  It doesn’t change the fact that every time I see an iPhone my eyes linger in jealousy.  I used to hate iPhones; who knew I could do an about-face so quickly?  Not like I’m fickle or anything…

My cousin's phone as of last year... ;)

My cousin’s phone as of last year… 😉

4.  I used to journal pretty much every day.  Then I had a monolithic journal entry that literally took me like 6 months to finish.  It was worth it, but I never really caught up. I started journaling on my phone whenever I felt like it, and have not had a chance to get all caught up on paper.  (It probably won’t ever happen.)  So the last entry in my journal is at least a year and a half ago.  I was looking something up in my journal today – just the one before the “current” one – and was horrified by what I was reading.  “How old was I???” I asked myself.  I flipped to the beginning of an entry and was again horrified to see that I was 17 almost 18. “Whoa, did you realize how much I’ve changed in 2 years?” I said to Hannah, who was across the table from me.  “I thought I was so suave back then…” “Yeah, because you were compared to when you were 14!” she finished my thought exactly. 😀 Don’t get me started on being 14. *shudders* But now I’m embarrassed by my 17 year old self… I think I see a trend here. 😀

5.  You know something that bugs me is when a website has a horrible search engine.  Like the Pioneer Woman for example.  (I’m picking her because she has a huge following already and I love her so much that I feel like I can use her as an example without sounding like I’m bad-mouthing her or her blog.  Plus she’s redoing her website soon, so this might be changing soon anyway. 🙂 )  I was trying to find her post she made when she announced her new cookware.  I searched so many different times, with simpler and simpler things, and could not find it.  It was bringing up these really old posts, and although I enjoyed reading them, because she always makes me laugh, I couldn’t find the post I was looking for.  And the thing is, it’s not just her website.  It’s worst when it’s on a food blog, and I’m trying to find a recipe.  Aghhh.  Some searches work just fine for me and some just don’t.  I wish I knew what it was.

6.  I just finished John, and when I heard the part about Thomas, I remembered something I realized when I was memorizing John for quizzing.  Here’s the passage (the important part is bolded):

Now Thomas (called Didymus), one of the Twelve, was not with the disciples when Jesus came.  So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord!”  But he said to them, “Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe it.”  A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them.  Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!”  Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands.  Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.”  Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!”  Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” ~ John 20: 24-29 (NIV ’84)

Most everyone I’ve heard talk about this passage have said that Thomas didn’t believe until he had put his fingers into Jesus hands, and hand into his side.  But it never says that he touched Jesus.  Not that he didn’t, but I think it’s interesting that we jump to the conclusion that he did.  All the Bible says (and it’s basically the same throughout the different versions) is that Jesus told Thomas to touch him, and to stop doubting and believe.  It could have been that although Thomas thought he would need to touch Jesus to believe, once Jesus appeared and spoke with him, he believed without touching him.  Also, Jesus didn’t say, “Because you have touched me, you have believed.”  I’m not saying this is what happened, I just find it interesting. 🙂

7.  I’m tired of social media, and I don’t have any.  I wish I had a buck for every time people mention social media.  I might start to have a positive association with it.

8.  Ugh, I’m sorry these aren’t more fun.

9.  I really need to listen to 100 Cupboards again.  I keep thinking that every time someone quotes from it.  If I don’t recognize the quote, I beat myself up because I’ve listened to it twice, and all my siblings can remember quotes I can’t.  My goal is to memorize the entire series eventually. 😉 While everyone else online is reading romance novels and adult/young adult fiction, I’m in my own little N. D. Wilson fan-girl world.  He is the best kept secret of this time-period.  Now that your expectations are really high, you should really read or listen to his books.  They are the real deal!

Red Moon - August 2015

10.  Oh, and before I forget, the other day night, the moon was orange almost red!  It was caused by the smoke from the wildfires in Eastern Washington (my prayers are with you!), and it was cool looking even though it’s for a sad reason. I was surprised that I was able to kind of capture it!

11.  I’m really looking forward to my Friday favorites this week, if I can write it in time.  A friend of ours had a medical emergency and we are on call if they need help.  So it might end up being a Saturday favorites. 😀

12.  And in case anyone tried to send me an email, I totally forgot to update my email address on my about page once I got the the one I wanted.  (Long story, I made a mistake and had to create a temporary address in the interim.  And then I forgot to change it on my about.  Oops!  It’s updated now!)

What do you think about the passage in John?  Are you ever embarrassed by your younger self?  What was your least favorite age? What was your favorite age? Any random thoughts? 

2 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud Thursday #7

  1. I always thought that John passage was interesting, too, especially because Jesus had warned the disciples not to believe someone who came to them claiming, “Here is the Christ,” or “There He is!” Thomas was *obeying* Jesus’ instructions, and yet nowadays, everyone criticizes him for it.

    Very, very, very embarrassed by Younger Self. I would say 16 or 17 was my least favorite age, but then I read some of my old blog posts from when I was 19 or 20 and I go, UGH. My favorite age I think would be 9. A lot of great things happened when I was 9, and I was old enough to take on more responsibilities, but young enough to still have fun and be innocent of the horrors of growing up. 🙂

    Yes, yes, YES!!! I 180 million times agree with you about everything you said about the iPhone!! And 100 Cupboards FOR LYFE!!! ❤

    Like

    • Yes, I almost mentioned that! Poor Thomas. Like the rest of us would have done anything differently if we were him. He and Martha can go in the same boat. 🙂

      Hmm, interesting. I think probably 7 or 8 would be my favorite age, but maybe that’s because I can distinctly remember being 7 and 8 (I was 8 in 2003; need I say more?). I don’t really remember being 9 except for VBA. 🙂

      ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

What are your thoughts?

