Friday Favorites – 9/4/15

Happy, happy Friday everyone!!! I’m tired, but determined to write this so we’ll see how this goes. 🙂

1.  My version of Amanda’s Almond Joy Overnight Oat Smoothie

Yes, I heavily adapted it because I wanted it badly, and didn’t have some of the stuff.  I thought it was her only overnight oat smoothie recipe, but then, after making it, I found out that she had another recipe that was pretty much exactly what I was doing, but without the coconut and almond.  Plus, I sub a half cup of Greek yogurt instead of half of the almond milk.  It makes it thicker and less drinkable, and more like a smoothie bowl, which isn’t a bad thing in my mind. 😀

2.  Bebo Norman

wp_ss_20150903_0001

There’s nothing like some good Bebo Norman or Matthew West when you are in need of some soul therapy. 🙂 Oh, The Afters are good, too!  But right now, Bebo Norman really hits the spot.  Especially God of My Everything, We Fall Apart, and Ruins.  When I was younger, I loved Ruins, but I only understood about half of it.  As songs do, it got lost for a while, but it has always been one of my favorites of his, and I would listen to it periodically.  The other day, I really felt like listening to it, so I did, and ding!  The light bulb went on, and I understood it.  Because I was living it.  I guess that’s one way to figure stuff out. 🙂 He is so good at putting feelings into verse, IMO.

3.  The stuff I didn’t loose from my phone crashing 

I know this sounds backwards, and I don’t want to get into the crazy details here, but I lost several things through the whole phone thing, and it just made me appreciate the things I didn’t loose even more.

4.  Lobster

My grandparents treated my family to dinner out (Peter was able to make it, too!) at The Outback Steakhouse, which for us is fancy, because it’s a sit-down restaurant. 😀 I ordered lobster for the first time, and LOVED it.  Yum.

5. The Pioneer Woman’s new product line

mg_7419

Photo credit is her’s obviously 😉

I know, I know, you’re really sick of me fan-girling the PW (<- and are probably also tired of that term!), but her stuff is so cute!  At least, most of it.  Some of it isn’t my style, but when I find someone who loves butterflies as much as I do, I can’t help but want to buy every single spoon, plate, pot (that handle…I think I’m going to faint!), pan and cutting board (I’m assuming the butterflies are on there somewhere, after all, I saw it in this picture, and they’re on everything!), despite the fact that I hate to work in the kitchen.  What can I say?  I should have known it was fate when I first heard about her because one of the little girls in the development informed us when we first moved in that “people” were calling us “the pioneers”.  It was a sign. 😉

6. My haircut!!!!

Oh yes, baby, I can do a messy bun again! Yeehaw!  My hair is tons lighter and thinner.  R. is so good at cutting hair, too.  She just does it for us because she’s a friend ( ❤ ), and she will cut and recut and tweak it until it’s how we like it.  She is also good at seeing what needs to be done but also checking with us to make sure we are ok with it.  I appreciate her artistic eye. 😀 I think her haircuts are worth way more than she charges!  (Oh, and did I mention, she drives to our house?)

That’s it for me, and I hope you all have a lovely weekend.  I actually have no idea what’s going on here this weekend; right now, I’m just taking one day at a time! 🙂 Kind of pathetic for a Labor Day Weekend.  But there may be a Goodwill trip, because they are having a sale…

Any good Labor Day sales I should know about?  What are you loving this week?

P.S. If you know of any overnight oat smoothie recipes, I’d love to expand my repertoire!  I only have like two different versions of overnight oats that I make, but theoretically, if I had more, I could just take those recipes and blend them up. 😀

5 thoughts on “Friday Favorites – 9/4/15

  1. YES on Bebo Norman!! I just re-discovered him last month or so after letting his music drop into the less frequented zone on my mp3 player. Heart balm…

    Lobster love forever!! And I am an avid Amanda fan. Love her recipes (wouldn’t a cookbook be awesome??), love her…as for overnight oat recipes, you could try Eating Bird Food. I have a couple from her.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

