Leibster Bonus Round!

Ok, so funny story.  Allison and I nominated each other for the Leibster award within twenty minutes of each other.  I really wanted to answer her questions, and much as I would love to spread the love, it was a bit of a challenge for me to come up with my last nominees, because I really wanted it to be someone I knew and had (somewhat) of a relationship with.  Self-imposed rule, I know, but it just feels weird to me to nominate people I don’t know.  So I’m kind of breaking the rules here, and just answering her questions (admittedly late).  I am excusing this because we nominated each other so close together, that it doesn’t even really count. 🙂

Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging because I had a strong desire to express myself.  I considered long and hard about whether or not to open a Facebook account, but for many reasons, I decided against that.  I wanted to have a place where people could get to know me for who I was, because at the time, I was feeling pretty invisible.  I also wanted make more friends, and nowadays it seems like the internet is the number one place to start. Basically, I wanted to share my life.

2.  If you could be any animal, what animal would it be?

Hmm…interesting question.  I’m thinking a horse. 🙂

3.  What is your biggest pet peeve?

I’ve thought long about this question, but for some reason, whenever I’m trying to think of a pet peeve, I never can.  I know I have them, though.  I feel like I should really know these kind of things about myself!  Ok, I don’t know if this is my biggest pet peeve, but it’s certainly up there.  When people don’t do any kind of research before getting a pet.  (Well, actually, you could shorten that and we could just talk about not doing research before action period, but I digress.) I am astounded by the number of people who don’t even think about how they are going to house and feed the animal, much less researching what kind they should get, before going out and looking for one. And I think I’m going to have to write another post on this because I kept writing paragraph after paragraph on this. 😀 I guess it’s safe to say it’s a pet peeve. 😉

4.  If you played hooky from work, what would you spend the day doing?

Lol, since I don’t have a job, I don’t really know, but depending on the time of year, it would involve sleeping in, either going on a walk or going to the mall, and watching a movie.  Of course music mixed in there.  And maybe eating out if I could afford it!

5.  What would you consider to be your biggest/best talent?

Oh dear, this is something I’m horrible at; recognizing talents of mine.  But it is really good for me.  So.  My best talent is…keeping people company?  Yeah, that’s the best one I can think of at the moment.  I’m good at being moral support. 😀

6.  What are you afraid of?

I’m afraid too many things to count (working on this!), but one major fear of mine is people pretending to like me when they really don’t.  This is partly because this has happened to me.  To a certain extent, from what I can tell.  You can’t know what exactly what people are thinking and feeling, but when what they say doesn’t match their actions?  Well, it doesn’t really matter, frankly; after all, actions speak louder than words.

7.  What is your favorite T.V. show?

Um, please don’t kill me, but I don’t watch TV.  Haven’t since like, 2009?  And that was at the gym.  Even then (and previously as well), I pretty much only watched shows on the Food Network, the History Channel, and HGTV.  So my favorite TV show goes to Throwdowns with Bobby Flay!  (I’ve only seen that because of Amazon Instant Video. 🙂 )

8.  What is your go-to meal to prepare for dinner?

It’s a recipe called Garlic Lime Chicken, from the cookbook Saving Dinner.  It’s literally one out of two recipes we make from it, but everyone loves it, and it’s just easy enough that I like making it, but not too simple to bore the mind of the local foodie. 😉 We pair it with a heavily adapted version of this Shredded Kale Salad. Yummers.  And yes, I like it with vegan parm, even though I’m not vegan, and I’m a DON”T-MESS-WITH-MY-CHEESE! type of girl. 🙂

9.  What is your favorite post on your blog?

Ok, I already answered this in the other Leibster post, BUT I have a new favorite.  It was in the works when I wrote the other one, but I really didn’t want to say, “I’ll leave a link here when I post it”.  So, my new favorite so far is my post about Letting Go of the Past. 🙂

10.  Mac or Windows?

Ok, ok.  Up until about a year ago, I would have given an adamant, lengthy answer basically saying Windows, because I cut my teeth on Windows and PCs, and my brain just (usually) gets how they work.  But as I’ve had more experience with Apple stuff, I found that I can catch on and figure it out and actually use iOS stuff.  And as Windows is changing a lot, and my dad is no longer working for Microsoft, things are equalizing a bit.  I am really sick of being in the phone minority, and even though I hate Siri (sorry, I don’t like her attitude!), I do like a lot of features that Apple has to offer.  I have to say, though, what gets me is the price.  I’m not even sure I’m going to be able to get an iPhone, let alone a Mac.  So as far as laptops go, I’ll probably be with PCs for a while.  I’m holding out hope for an iPhone though!  (And yes, if any of my Apple loving relatives are reading this, you can totally give me a hard time about it.  I deserve it for being an inconsiderate, narrow-minded, loud-mouthed teenager. 😉 )

11.  What is your favorite form of social media?

I. will. refrain. from. going. on. a. social. media. soapbox.  I don’t have social media, except for this blog you are reading.  Bam, there you go, blogs are my life.  But if I did have one, I think Instagram would be my jam.  Haha.  That was an unintentional rhyme. 🙂

And that’s it!  Talk to you guys later!

7 thoughts on “Leibster Bonus Round!

  1. I’m with you on the Apple/Mac thing…I think it would be pretty fun to have a broader knowledge of various OSs anyway. And for me, Apple has always had at least a tiny, well-guarded corner of my eye-candy-loving heart. 😉

    Like

    • Aww, thanks Allie! It can be SO hard sometimes. But I think it’s worth it. 🙂 Especially since it seems like it’s becoming a bit more common? I don’t know if that’s true or not, but it definitely seems that now when I tell people I don’t have social media, they go, “Oh, ok.” instead of giving me the “what planet did you come from?” look. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

