Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Hey guys!  I don’t know if I ever told you, but a long time ago (almost 6 months ago 😲) I was nominated for this award right here:

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-tag-image-0141

I was nominated by Morgan at Wanderlust Mo, and I am so sorry it took me so long to get around to writing this post!  (Thanks again for the nomination! ❤ )

Here are the rules that go with receiving this award.

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  2. Put the award logo on your blog.
  3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.
  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Nominate ten blogs.

Here are my answers to Morgan’s questions:

1. Why do you blog?

I actually answered this question in an older post, and it is still pretty relevant.

“This is going to sound awful, but it’s mostly for me.  But you are a part of it, too!  I really wanted a place where I could express myself, put my thoughts out there (I haven’t done this enough yet!) and just be me.  I also wanted to make some online friends, since as of now, I don’t have that many in real life.  I don’t have any dreams of making money out of it; I view it as an online journal, not a business.  Because of this, I sometimes feel inadequate because I know a lot of people who are trying (or hope to someday) make money from their blogs, but I think I’m getting a firmer grip on what I want for my blog, and I’m ok with it.  More than ok; excited about it!  (I’m constantly amazed that people are willing to come along for the ride with me!  If you are reading this, thank you from the bottom of my heart!)  To sum up: I blog because I want to share my life.”

Yup.  Couldn’t have said it better.

2. What is your all time favorite novel and why?

Oh, this is a wicked hard question!  I’m sure there is some book I’m forgetting, but I think I’m going to say the 100 Cupboards series by N. D. Wilson.  I know it’s a series, and it’s written for kids, but so far, it’s one of my all-time favorites.  After all, it was because of that series that his name made it into my bio (in the sidebar – which I should probably update, because it’s still the same one I typed up on a whim as I was setting up my blog.). But back to the subject.

I have talked about this series multiple times here, but I think it’s worth going over again.  These books are my soul-food.  N. D. Wilson is really good about transporting you into another world, and at the same time, escaping yours.  I love spending time with the characters, who are the perfect blend of realistic and unique.  They are so relatable, and I find the series very soothing, and I’ve even said it’s like a security blanket for me.  I said this in a previous post, and I think I said it well, so I’ll say it again here:

“N. D. Wilson is a magician with words, and although I don’t have a very good imagination, with his books, I can really see what’s happening in my mind’s eye.  He also perfectly captures real feelings, which for this feelin’ girl, is rare and beautiful.”

To sum up with the word of one of the characters:

“‘Careful, Henry,’ he said, ‘Place like this can get in your bones…”

Or rather, a book like this can get in your bones! 😜

3. What person, experience, or thing has made you into the person you are today?

Definitely Bible Quizzing.  It includes people, experiences, and a thing (the Bible being the thing).  I’ve mentioned a couple times here how I don’t know who I would be if it hadn’t been for my time in this program, and it’s quite true.  Of course, there’s practical side in that I have (or rather, had 😐) multiple books of the Bible memorized, and – in the process – making memorizing things easier for me than for most people.  But besides that, there were so so so so many things I learned from being involved, that it would be another whole post if I were to list them out.  I learned to be a good loser, and a good winner (I hope 😕); I learned that sometimes first impressions are right, and sometimes they are wrong; I learned that people (and/or our perspective of them) change over time; I learned how to be a good friend/teammate (again, I hope!).  I saw the incredible power of kindness, tasted the first taste of friendship (even though I was never intimate friends with anyone in the program), and watched God do some small miracles.  I could go on and on, but quizzing, along with the people and experiences that came with it, have truly made me who I am now.

4. What is your go-to song for a jam sesh?

Well, my jam sessions aren’t usually only one song long, and it would definitely depend on the mood I’m in. I usually automatically go to a new (to me) song if I’m going to single one out.  I love jamming to the Frozen soundtrack (usually just the songs with words, although I do like the rest of the score) with my sibs, because we take different parts and all sing together.  But if it’s just me…gosh, this is so hard because there are so many songs I like!  I think I’m going to go with Immortals by Fall Out Boy.  I’ve definitely been jamming to it a lot lately since we watched Big Hero 6 a month or two ago.  (Yes, I know, we’ve had the movie sitting on the shelf for a while, but we just got around to watching it.  Now it’s one of my siblings’ and my favorites!)

5. What is your dearest dream? Such as a goal or aspiration – like a place to adventure or something you hope to experience.

Travel!  I want to travel the country, travel Europe, and maybe more.  I don’t know if this will ever happen, but there are so many places I would love to explore.  Possibly tied with my horse dream

6. What is something you can’t live without?

Music.  Do I have to say any more?  It’s in my genes.

7. What makes your heart happy?

My heart is happy when I’m with people I love and who love me.  Or at least like me.  Does that count?  It seems a bit like a cop-out, but it’s my best answer.

8. Three words that describe you.

Quiet, sensitive, caring?  I’m guessing we are going for positive words here.  I haven’t given this a lot of thought (like I usually like to do), but these are the top three that came to mind.

9.  What is your favorite hobby and why?

Journaling.  It helps me process, lets me vent, and doesn’t judge my over-sentimentality/cheesiness.  Mostly the first one and the last one.  I don’t vent very often, but when I do, it’s to my journal.  Or with my sibs, if we are are doing a group venting session (is this normal??).

10. Describe your style.

Comfortable, casual, with a bit of glam?  I am not a fashionista.  At all.  So I don’t know all the right names for styles, and I think that’s the best way I can describe it. 😀

Here’s my nominees:

The Unconventional Kitchen

Polished by Amy

This Italian Family

My Name is not Katie

Sarah Learns Life

Blissful Lyss

I apologize for having so few nominees.  Ten is a lot!  During the recent family “crisis” if you will, I majorly cut down on the blogs I was following, and tightened up my criteria for following blogs regularly, because I found reading blogs was taking up too much of my time.  So unfortunately, I don’t have a very large pool to pick from.  However, if you want, feel free to join in!

Here are my questions for you:

1. Why do you blog?
2. If you could change anything in your bedroom, what would it be?
3. What is something you can’t live without?
4. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?
5. What is your dearest dream? Such as a goal or aspiration – like a place to adventure or something you hope to experience.
6. What’s your favorite thing to do to relax?
7. What person, experience, or thing has made you into the person you are today?
8. What is one of your all time favorite novels and why?
9. If you could be a fictional character, who would it be and why?
10. What’s your favorite dessert?

Please don’t feel obligated to make a post!  I just want to share the love.  ❤

4 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Ooh, I love your questions!! My only problem will be that the two of us are so much alike that many of my answers would be the same as you, lol! (Except probably #8?). Um, like what you said about Bible Quizzing and 100 Cupboards?? Totally my feelings too; you nailed it and I couldn’t have put it so well! Thank you so much for the nomination…I really hope I can find the time to put together a post, because I want to answer your questions! 😆

    Like

    • Lol, yes! I’m pretty sure you could have said it better than me, though. It took me like three tries to get it “right”. 🙂 You don’t have to post if you don’t have the chance; I completely understand!

      Like

  2. You are so sweet to nominate me! Thank you, girl! I blog for the same reason! I want to share my life. 🙂 And I love having a journal of sorts from all the years I’ve blogged. Not to mention the awesome community that blogging brings! 🙂 I haven’t read 100 Cupboards before, but now I want to! I’m adding it on my GoodReads list. 🙂 Glad you included the video for Immortals in this post. Totally jamming to it right now. I love that you are so close to your siblings that you guys sing together and vent together when needed. My siblings and I totally sing different parts of songs together! Not only when we all lived at home together, but even still now! 🙂

    So I wanted to answer your questions here… prepare for a LONG comment, haha!

    1. Like I mentioned above, for the same reasons as you! 🙂

    2. Nada! I love our bedroom. 🙂

    3. Definitely Jesus. And my husband and pup. And our awesome support system (family & friends). And sunshine. Was this supposed to be just one thing? Oops…

    4. Definitely reading minds! I way overthink things all the time so it would be nice to know FOR sure what other people really think.

    5. This is a tough one. I mean, we love to travel so I have quite the list of places I want to visit. But if I had to pick a dearest dream… this will sound cheesy, but it will be the day when I hear “well done, good and faithful servant”.

    6. Snuggle on the couch with the husband and pup and watch something that makes us laugh.

    7. So many people and experiences. But if I had to pick one, it would be my husband. He is such a good man and I have learned so much about patience, kindness, love, and self control from him.

    8. Oh goodness, another tough one! I’m really bad at picking favorites, haha! It changes based on the day. 😉 Today I’d have to say Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers.

    9. Another one that changes based on the day! Today I’d say Anita Radcliff… I want to have 101 Dalmatians! 🙂

    10. Fresh, ripe fruit!

    Like

    • Ooh! I love all your answers!! And big long comments don’t bother me at all; I was a pro at it, and still do it on occasion. (I also like the idea of answering questions to an award post in the comments; it’s my favorite part of the whole thing, and the rest is kind of a pain, TBH. 😀 I was planning on this being my last award post, even if I got nominated, but I think I might steal this idea from you if someone nominates me for anything else. 😉 )

      I tend to really overthink things as well, and I can never decide whether I would want that power or not, though. Part of me does because I think it would clear up most situations and make them way less complicated (on my end, at least 😀 ), but the other half of me is worried about the potential it has to be devastating/heartbreaking. I guess it’s just like all things, though, there are upsides and downsides. I’m just not sure if I have the guts to deal with the downsides of that one, lol!

      101 Dalmations is one of my favorites of Disney’s Animated Classics! Of course I love different movies for different reasons, but of their older movies, it’s the best. It beats Cinderella or Sleeping Beauty in my book any day. 😉 Bolt is another favorite, although to me, it shouldn’t be considered a “classic”, partly because it’s CG, but also because it’s newer. But they didn’t ask me. 😉

      Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions! It was so much fun reading the answers! ❤

      Like

What are your thoughts?

