Camera Roll Catch Up: January – May 2016

I wanted to catch you guys up on what’s been going on in my life since *cough* the beginning of the year, and I thought that I could do that by going through my camera roll and sharing some unseen photos!  As expected, as we get further into the year, there’s more pictures that you haven’t seen.  To keep things somewhat organized I’m doing it in a month by month format, rather than just everything thrown in at random.  I’m not including my first trip to California, because I’m hoping *fingers crossed* that I will be able to come back to that once I’ve caught you up on the rest of my life.  I hope you don’t mind if it’s outdated by like a year. 😐

*By the way, before I get started, I thought I’d let you know that I updated my about page!  It was needing an update in a bad way, and I’m kind of ridiculously proud of it.  It’s shorter (although it’s still long for most people), better formatted and just more me.  I kept my old one and linked to it in case anyone was curious.  Feel free to check it out!  I’ll leave a link at the bottom as well in case anyone wants to read the whole post  and read my about.  Don’t feel obligated, I’m just doing for you what I would wish the blogger had done if I was reading!*

January & February:

Not much to report about January & February actually, because a.) not much happened, and b.) I was kind of still blogging back then.  Sort of.  One post in January, and three in February.  I did find this random picture of a Frozen toothbrush with Frozen toothpaste in my camera roll.

wp_20160223_001

Unfortunately I don’t remember the story behind taking it; I mean Frozen merch was nothing new.  Maybe I found it amusing that you could buy both?  Idk, you can decide. :’D

March:

In March I started experimenting with some really crazy natural hair things.  In this picture I had put honey in my hair, which was challenging, weird, and didn’t really seem to do anything special for me, so I’ve never done it since.

WP_20160307_005.png

It looked so much weirder in real life vs. the pictures, because my hair was stiff for the first like four inches of my hair, so it stuck out really weird.  I’m sparing you my attempts to catch that on camera, so this is after I put my hair up in a top knot to contain it so I could do some kitchen work.

March was also when I was able to get my hair to be the most curly I’ve ever gotten it.  For some reason, I haven’t really been able to get it quite as curly since.  Probably because I’m lazy and am not doing everything I could to encourage it to be curly. :S

Ok, I included two pictures because although I liked the one on the left better, in the one on the right I look SO much like my mom when she was younger, and I usually look like my dad’s side of the family…it’s just super creepy!  I wish I had a picture of my mom to show you so you could see it, but I don’t.  Sorry!  (Can you see it, Grandma?)

April:

I kind of gave you an April update in my last post before The Great Silence (lol), but there were a few things I didn’t cover.  For example, Hannah & I actually created our YouTube channel, although we didn’t post on it until several months later.  (We actually created it on my birthday!  So whenever we go to our profile it says, “Date created: April 12th 2016” and I get a little thrill. 😛 )

The Humane Society I volunteer for is so pretty in the spring, and so I had to take some flower pictures.  Isn’t it so pretty?  And this was taken with my old phone, too!  (Oops! #spoilers!!)

wp_20160429_004

I also found these, um, sunglasses.  I found them to be a bit…odd.  Is it just me?  But of course, I had to take a selfie with them.

wp_20160405_001

May:

Yes, old readers may remember me saying multiple times that I wanted an iPhone.  Well, in May, that dream came true, and it’s easy to say I’m IN LOVE.

wp_20160517_003

This was before the 7 came out, and my cousin was saying we should wait, but I just couldn’t (I was so d.o.n.e. with my old phone), plus the 6s was cheaper.  Even though I am quite jealous of the 7’s camera, I’m still VERY happy with my phone as it is.  I’m so grateful for it, and I love it so much.  I’m going to stop now because you all are probably thinking, “calm down, girl, it’s *just* an iPhone!”  But when it’s your first, you don’t take it for-granted.  I’m an Apple girl in the making, although I still think their prices are exorbitant.  (Thank you, Mom & Daddy for the best phone I’ve ever had!

The second surprise in May, was I fostered my first litter of kittens!!  They were so cute, but little trouble makers, and were both harder and easier than puppies, just in different ways.

wp_20160514_009

20160531_035532738_ios

The hardest thing for me was the mess.  I don’t know if I was doing it wrong, but they had the kind of litter that disintegrates into sawdust, and they tracked it everywhere.  The second hardest thing was keeping things out of their reach.  Thank goodness, they were kept in the bathroom, but even that was still hard.  I came down to this one morning when someone forgot to move the toilet paper back out of their reach.

20160525_070359886_ios

I had a good laugh once I realized it was human error, and not that they had figured out how to get it down from the window sill.  One thing that was really embarrassing was we weren’t told the kitten’s genders, but we were asked to name them, which we love to do!  I thought they were all girls because I have zero experience with cats, and based my guess off of puppies.  It wasn’t until they went up for adoption on the website that I saw they were all boys.  Thankfully two of them had androgynous names, but this one didn’t.

wp_20160515_001

This was Minka, the favorite, because he was so sweet and more chill than Twinkle and Boo.  But the poor guy was cursed with a girl’s name because I thought he was a girl.  The staff and the adopters probably all thought I was weird, but I just hope he got a new, more appropriate name.

I also got MSQRD because I now had an iPhone, and played around with it a lot because it’s fun, especially for those of us that don’t have Snapchat.

Ok, I think I’m going to end this here, because May had a lot of stuff to report!  Stay tuned for June to December!!  (October is going to be so long…it might have to be a post in and of itself.  We’ll see.)  Thank you so much if you made it all the way to the end!  I love you, and I hope you enjoyed this way of catching up! ❤

sign-off

What have you been up to in the last year?  How are you doing?

Link to my about me page…

What are your thoughts?

